Announcing recipients of the Berkelhammer Postdoc Travel Award for 2019

The Office for Postdoctoral Scholars is very pleased to announce the first recipients of the new Berkelhammer Postdoc Travel Award. A panel of faculty reviewers selected ten awardees from the over 100 applications we received in this initial funding cycle. 

The purpose of the Berkelhammer Postdoc Travel Award is to help postdoctoral scholars at UCSF lay the foundation for their careers as independent researchers by supporting travel to a conference, workshop, or event where the postdoc can either:

1.   Present their own research project – as distinct from their PI’s, or
2.   Gain the knowledge, skills, and professional contacts that will enable them to move beyond the work of their current mentor.

Each of the following ten recipients will receive $2,500 to support travel in 2019 to a conference or workshop where they can connect with leaders in their fields:

Zhenyi An – Department of Neurology
Aparna Bhaduri – Department of Regeneration Medicine
Nina Draeger – Institute for Neurodegenerative Diseases
Sasha Gorrell – Department of Psychiatry
Stephanie Hilz – Department of Neurological Surgery
Jose Carlo Hojilla – Department of Psychiatry
Marco Jost – Department of Cellular and Molecular Pharmacology
Robert Newberry – Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry
Yulia Oganian – Department of Neurological Surgery
Naomi Ziv – Department of Microbiology and Immunology

Congratulations to the awardees! We wish them safe and fruitful travels. We also gratefully acknowledge Dr. Larry Berkelhammer, whose generous gift has made this award possible. 

Thanks also to all the postdocs who applied for the award. We are truly gratified at the level of interest this initiative generated.  In fall 2019, we will accept applications to fund travel in 2020.